Now Playing Ramblings 09-15-09

Ooo, a new type of post!  Let me explain what this is.  For the… maybe one person who stumbled upon my blog that’s NOT from The Backloggery, this basically is the post for me to talk about what I’m playing, and that I can’t really fit in the area I’m given.  If you wanna see what I’m playing (since I won’t really list them all out), check my Backloggery page here.

For the other three or four of you, you know what I’m talking about. :3

Okay, so my NP list is HUGE lately.  It keeps growing and growing too.  D:  Lately, I can’t really stick to one game for too long, and for that reason my marathon games and challenges are piling up.  I really should beat them soon, but… some of them are just hard, while others don’t really interest me.  CouryC challenged me to Viewtiful Joe MONTHS ago, but I just can’t seem to get the motivation up to learn how to beat Fire Leo.  Of course, that’s from a while ago, but I’m having the same problem with all my games now, though for a couple I have excuses.  :p

Like Braid.  I find it really fun, but I’m horrible at puzzle games like this.  I’m in World 6 (the second to last world, if I recall correctly), and man it’s tough.  I really can’t go to much now without worrying about frustration.  I think it’s worth it, though.  There’s also the problem that I don’t want to play when anyone else is around, since 1., my roommates already beat it and 2., it’s embarassing to suck so much at it.  I think I’ll be able to get through it soon though, as long as I continue to get up early.  :p

On the other hand, I finally got a bit of money, so my boyfriend and myself bought ourselves a few games.  First we bought some 360 downloadable games, the main one being “Splosion Man.  I’m going through the Single Player right now, and man, it’s starting to get hard.  Thankfully it’s not ‘pull out your hair’ hard, but some part require perfect ‘sploding to move on.  However, the checkpoint system’s pretty well-made, so you don’t have to repeat to much when you die… and the Fat Scientist song is awesome!  :D

…In addition, we bought Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection.  To be honest, I’ve been playing a good amount of the games on there, but only on and off, so I don’t want to add all those games and make my list one of the biggest on the site.  D:  But, man, the 40+ games on the disc really made my percentage go up… I’ll have to beat a lot of games to make that go down again…

I’m still glad for the purchase though.  For 25 bucks, I got pretty much every Genesis game I’ve wanted, and then some.  I mainly wanted it beacause it’s the only compilation with all the original Phantasy Star games on it, but getting The Shining Force games, the Golden Axe games (which I realized how fun it is with two players) and Ristar just add to the awesome-ness.

But I’m supposed to be talking about my list, right…?  Let’s see, what about Sword of Mana?  I recently beat Legend of Mana, and I thought that what superfun.  Well now, LordoftheRedead’s challenged me to beat another of the series.  I have to say, it’s fun, but I don’t like it as much as Legend thus far.  The fighting’s more refined from Legend, but I really don’t like the forging and fruit systems.  Just seems like they were thrown in without much thought.  It’s not a bad game, and I’m sure is much improved from Final Fantasy Adventure, but it still has its problems…

Hmmm… I think that’s all I have to ramble about for now.  I’m wondering though, what do you guys think I can do to make this better?  Add pictures?  Find game history?  Be more organized about the writing?  Let me know, I’d like this to be more readable for you guys, even if I’m just rambling!  :D

Leave a Reply

