Now Playing Ramblings 09-28-09

It’s been a decent amount of time, and I’m done messing with the blog for now, so it’s time for another edition of Now Playing Ramblings!  Huzzah!  Remember, rare wanderer that’s not from the Backloggery, this is based off my Backloggery page (which is located in my link area), so you might want to check that out.

Let’s see… I have so many marathons going on (still)!  It’s also been a long time since I’ve beaten a game.  D:  I dunno why, I just haven’t been playing enough of one game… Or maybe not the right game.  Meh.

But one game I HAVE been playing a lot of Wind Waker.  Honestly, I’ve never liked 3D Zelda games too much.  I found Ocarina of Time just meh and Majora’s Mask to not be great.  I have to say, though, I’m really looking Wind Waker.  I’ve moved pretty far in the game pretty quickly, though I’m really not looking forward to finding the Triforce pieces… and I know how much damn money it’ll cost me.  D:  Other than that, though, I’m really enjoying it, and it might even change my views on the 3D Zeldas…

Also, I recently bought the DS Dragon Quest IV.  I’ve already made it to Chapter 4 (out of 5 main storyline chapters… there’s one more after you beat the game), and I’m really having fun.  The way the characters are introduced are pretty cool, and everyone having their own mini-stories really fleshes out the other characters.  It’s unfortunate that the main character won’t be fleshed out like the others… but hey, I don’t really expect it from a Dragon Quest game.

Let’s see… I’ve also been playing a decent amount of this Genesis game called Fatal Labyrinth.  It was on the Genesis Collection I bought… it’s a rouge-like, and I’m really not a fan of the genre.  Fatal Labyrinth probably won’t change my mind, but I still find it decent fun.  It’s bascially a typical rouge-like… if you don’t know what that is, well…. er, look it up, I don’t really know how to explain it.  I’m almost done (on level 25/30)… but one thing I think is nifty about the game is when you die.  See, the farther you get, the more people that come to mourn you, and the better your grave gets.  Hell if I know how they know you died or got your body, but hey, I like memorials to me when I die.  :D

Finally, there’s Phantasy Star.  Another game on the Genesis Collection (even though it’s a Master System game), I’ve played pretty far in the game before on a ROM, but I’m pretty pleased with playing it, and owning the entire original Phantasy Star collection on one compilation.  Of course, I forgot from before that I played through most of it with a walkthrough.  At first it was because of the confusion in the first-person dungeons, but then I found myself using it to find out where to move onto a lot.  Now that I’m not playing it on a computer, I find it a lot harder to figure out where to go… but I sort of expected it.  I’m sure I’ll make it through eventually…

Hmmm…. that’s it for this rambling!  What about the rest of my games on the list?  Well… I’m not really playing them actively right now, so I don’t have anything to say about them. :p

Leave a Reply

