Sometimes, you just have to laugh at this stuff.

Minecraft’s been all the rage lately.  I’ll be honest, I haven’t played it myself, and I don’t know what the game really consists of.  However, I just get a feeling that the Christian Gaming Zone has gotten the wrong idea.

Go ahead, read the review:  It’s very creative, to say the least.  I have to wonder if the writer truly believes what they are saying, or if they’re just really trying to form any parallel they can, at the fear of the webmaster calling down the fury of Hell on them.  I really want to think the latter, with a quote like this…

“…there are clues to the Christian purpose of the game. The most obvious is the name: Minecraft Alpha. This is of course a reference to Jesus’ revelation that He is the Alpha and the Omega (Rev. 22:13).”

…Or maybe because it’s the final build, thus the ‘Alpha’ tag?

Oh, there’s even a picture of the writer doing some missionary work in the ‘Classic’ area, claiming that the user he chatted with became born again.

I”m really not one to mock people, or make fun of them because of their different, skewed views… but come on.  Seriously?  This is on a whole other level.  But I guess some good does come out of it… I’m sure a lot of die-hard Christians will enjoy some Minecraft now, too!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Encrazed Crafts
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 17:44:54

    Nay, Heathen! Minecraft was born within the mind of Notch due to God’s will! He Hath shown the masses that the Lord helps those that helps themselves! Building your own shelter and gathering food stuffs builds a commitment to one’s self, and the slaying of the livestock is symbolic of the sacrifice He demands from us all!

    Tell me friend, if one were to build a monument above the clouds, how would you connect to those around you? Communicate, even? Impossible! You would craft your very one Tower of Babel and sow the consequences for it in kind!

    Dig too deep within the earth, seeking material gain by way of Diamonds and ye shall find nothing but unbreakable rock and flowing lava as fierce and thick as the river Styxx!

    And yay, when one has grown complacent in your surroundings, confident in your work and too proud in your craftsmanship, the angel of death shall find you in your safest of places, silently Creeping up on you until it too late, and all you are able to witness is a cold, dark sky and the lettering “Game Over” hovering in the endless horizon…

    Repent! Repeeeent!

    Reply

    • gaiages
      Nov 16, 2010 @ 20:19:00

      I… I don’t know what to say. It all makes sense… Minecraft truly is a work in God’s name!

      I now see the light. I will right my sins and speak the glory of the Lord in all His name.

      (You made my day, for sure.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

