My Top Ten 2010: #10-6

It’s the end of the year!  It’s the time for all the big gaming sites to pick their games of the year, what they enjoyed and hated, et cetera.  So why not join in on the year-end fun?  As you could probably tell, I’m making a list of the top ten games I’ve played for 2010… but I’m not limited myself to games released this year.  I’m poor, so many of the games I buy and that I have aren’t the most up-to-date… and most of the ones I do have I haven’t started!  So, instead I’m going to broaden it to any game I played this year, regardless of release date.  So, before I begin, here’s a few fun facts about my list, just for the hell of it:

  • Of these ten games, seven of them are RPGs.  Of the remaining three, one of them has RPG elements in it.  Yes, I love RPGs.
  • Of the ten, five of the games were released in 2010.  From there, three were released in 2009, one in 2006, and one in 2005.  I’ve been playing more of the recent games than retro.
  • All but one of these games is a portable game.  Geez!

Well, that’s all.  Let’s begin with number ten!

#10 – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

I’m not really a shooter fan.  I guess I just have a shaky hand, or something, because I suck at them.  But Modern Warfare 2 is a great game in every right, even if I did suck at it.  The game was fun and had a great tutorial, so even someone like me could get the hang of it.  Also, the story was intriguing and made me want to play more, even if I had to deal with the frustration of my suckage.  Throw in some kick-ass multiplayer, and this game forces its way into my top ten.

#9 – Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow

I hate Aria of Sorrow.  I’m not sure why, I think I just had a bad memory of it when I played it in my younger days.  When Dawn of Sorrow first came out, I scoffed at it, shunning it with the combination of my dislike of the first game and the… questionable change in art style.  However, now that I’ve been practically forced to play it, I can see how much I was missing out on.  Great classic Metroid-vania gameplay, the addiction of collecting souls, and other little mechanics made DoS a joy for me to play.

#8 – Ace Attorney: Miles Edgeworth Investigations

I LOVE the Ace Attorney series.  The courtroom antics and the intense melodrama makes me love (almost) every entry, and this new game is no exception.  Instead of the game taking place in the courts, though, you take control of everyone’s favorite purple-clad prosecutor and take it to the crime scene.  Ace Attorney 5 might be a bit easier than previous entries, but the charm and eccentric characters make this a terrific entry to the series.

#7 – Pokemon: HeartGold Version

I have spent around 140 hours with this game already.  That alone should go to tell you how addicted I got to this iteration of the Pokemon series.  The second generation games (Gold, Silver, and Crystal) were my favorites was I was a kid, so booting up HeartGold and playing through it was an intensely fun nostalgia trip.  Add in all the extra features from the newer games and almost double as many Pokemon to find from before, and this game sucked me into the region of Johto again.

#6 – Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals

I kinda felt sorry for Lufia 5 when I got it.  I had an unnatural hate for the series, as the only game I played before was Ruins of Lore (Lufia 4), and that game sucked super ass.  Also, I started playing this game RIGHT AFTER Ys Seven, and since Curse of the Sinistrals is also an action RPG, I saw flaws in the combat pretty quickly.  Despite all that, however, this game turned out to be a great experience for me.  It’s a re-imagining of Lufia II, so the great story is still there, but he gameplay and dungeons are more streamlined, so that you can enjoy the experience without all the backtracking and frustration those old-school RPGs had.

——

That’s the bottom five of my list!  Stay tuned for Thursday, where I’ll put up my top five to 2010.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sake
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 15:47:47

    You know today’s Thursday, right?

    also, I hated both #8 and #7 of your list. ^.^ am troll.
    AAI wasn’t what I was looking for in the Ace Attorney series. >.>
    HG/SS just sucked. ^_______________^ am troll alot

    Reply

    • gaiages
      Dec 30, 2010 @ 21:18:07

      D<, yes, I know today's Thursday. And HOW DARE YOU have a different opinion than my own!? GTFO!

      On a slightly more serious note… Ace Attorney: Edgey Edition was a bit different from the rest, but I still liked it because it still had its charm. If it actually had all the courtroom antics of the previous games, I would have loved it even more, methinks.

      As for HG… Meh. Nostalgia played a huge factor for me on that one. Overall, if I had actually PLAYED more games during the first half of the year, the bottom half of my list would have been very different. But hey, that's what next year's for. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

